Picture
These are my friends Susan and Sharon.  In May, these ladies walked the last  one hundred sixty-five kilometers (over one hundred miles) of the Camino from O'Cebreiro to Santiago de Compostela.  These gals are my heroes,  my inspiration, and the very reason I know about the Way of St. James in the first place.  They love the Word of God, are humble servants of the Most High, and are masters of praise and prayer.  I hope the road and the shelters are full of trekkers just like them.  

Sharon Parker
6/30/2012 12:07:35 am

Yeah, um, besta luck with that. Most of the pilgrims we met were not fervent Catholics (or even Christians); they were "seekers", perhaps. Great people, though. Lots of interesting conversations with people along the way. :-)

Reply
Susan Timoney
6/30/2012 02:14:50 am

I am so excited for you, as Sharon said, the people of "The Way" are walking for all kinds of reasons and very open to listening to your reason, so share the Good News!

Reply
Lisa Sawyer
9/3/2012 04:31:39 am

I sure thought a lot about you ladies, especially while walking in your footsteps in that rich-rich soil on the O'Cebreiro-to-Santiago stretch. I am so glad we all were given our blessed opportunities to learn the Camino's lessons. Thank you for introducing me to the idea.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Lisa Sawyer

    Buen Camino!  Welcome to Soul Stride, a chronicle of the pilgrimage I took by foot, July 15th to August 24th, from Saint Jean Pied de Port, France to Santiago de Compostela, Spain where the Apostle James' bones are believed to be interred.  Kindly read these posts from the bottom of the site up, as they chronologize the adventure, with the very first entry (June 7 letter to my Mom) explaining my motivation for making the journey and providing the logistics.  Thank you so much for sharing my interest in the Way of Saint James and for supporting my life-changing voyage!  God speed!  Ultreia! 

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012