Picture
See photo gallery.

My time in Astorga was my whale-belly time, a true separation from my known world and self.  I was extremely depressed and could not see how I could complete my journey.  At that point I was transitioning between worlds and selves.  What I did not realize was that, as I lie miserable on a bunk in a municipal dormitory, a separation was being made between my old world and old self and my potential for a new world and new self.  What I did not yet know was that, as my hope bled out, the experiences that were to shape my new world and self had already begun with this dark, unknown, and frightening experience.  I found myself desperate to undergo the metamorphosis which indeed had already begun.




Leave a Reply.

    Lisa Sawyer

    Buen Camino!  Welcome to Soul Stride, a chronicle of the pilgrimage I took by foot, July 15th to August 24th, from Saint Jean Pied de Port, France to Santiago de Compostela, Spain where the Apostle James' bones are believed to be interred.  Kindly read these posts from the bottom of the site up, as they chronologize the adventure, with the very first entry (June 7 letter to my Mom) explaining my motivation for making the journey and providing the logistics.  Thank you so much for sharing my interest in the Way of Saint James and for supporting my life-changing voyage!  God speed!  Ultreia! 

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012