Picture
See photo gallery.

I left the albergue by 6:30 a.m.  After having a cup of coffee and a croissant, I crossed through giant-leafed vineyards into the renown Rioja region on my way to Logrono.  I hoped to find a bus in Logrono which would take me to Burgos.  It had rained during the night, so the fields were damp and cool.  I tiptoed around puddles and tasted green and purple grapes, wishing it had been a bit later in the season so that I could have enjoyed them at their plumpest and sweetest.

Outside of Logrono, I got a sello (stamp) in my credencial (pilgrim's passport) and purchased a couple of small souvenirs from Felicia, Logrono's gatekeeper so to speak.  

Eventually, I made it into Logrono, found the bus station, purchased a ticket, and, after a couple hours' wait, traveled to Burgos.  

As you probably figured, I was miserable in Burgos.  I skipped dinner because I was in pain and did not want to walk to find food.  I did, however, tour the nearby Burgos Cathedral, because I could not have come that far and not have seen it.  I was sorely discouraged, but I controlled what I could control and genuinely did what I could to make the best of my difficulties.

Picture
The Burgos Cathedral was indeed majestic and the grandest thing I had ever seen.  I wondered how the Cathedral in Santiago could possibly top it.  I was saddened, however, to see what had once been a sacred place overrun with tourists.  I had to work on my attitude, because I found revolting everyone who held their phones up and took pictures of themselves every-which-where.  It seemed as if their lives had been reduced to a series of photo opportunities.  But, then again this revulsion came from a crabby, miserable lady.  At least the people taking pictures of themselves were smiling.

While in Burgos, I saw the dark-haired Matt Chism/Dave Thaxtonish guy who had been on the same train as I from Bayonne to St. Jean Pied de Port.  I had seen him at one other albergue along the way as well.  He was still looking as lonely, awkward, and miserable as I.

While in Burgos, I wished I had gotten to know Pillar, a woman I had spoken with at the albergues in Orisson, Arre, and Vianna.  I was in her city of origin now-- the city where she would finish her Camino.  She had spoken only Spanish, and it had seemed too hard when I was exhausted to try to communicate, but, there in Burgos, I asked God to bless her and hoped she would find what she was seeking on the Camino.

9/8/2012 08:59:13 pm

hey:-) just wondering why ou didn't phone, gave you my card in zubiri.. love:-)

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Lisa Sawyer

    Buen Camino!  Welcome to Soul Stride, a chronicle of the pilgrimage I took by foot, July 15th to August 24th, from Saint Jean Pied de Port, France to Santiago de Compostela, Spain where the Apostle James' bones are believed to be interred.  Kindly read these posts from the bottom of the site up, as they chronologize the adventure, with the very first entry (June 7 letter to my Mom) explaining my motivation for making the journey and providing the logistics.  Thank you so much for sharing my interest in the Way of Saint James and for supporting my life-changing voyage!  God speed!  Ultreia! 

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012