See photo gallery.

My foot pain was intolerable this day, but what could I do?  I also was very sick to my stomach, and the temperature was over 100 degrees.  I walked less in order to try and heal a bit and to have enough time for my clothes to actually dry after hand washing them.

I spent the night at an albergue in a village called Lorca.  It was a port in a storm.  I was served a great meal there: thinly sliced pork with green peppers and warmed cheese, and a tuna salad with asparagus and fruit.  Furthermore, the albergue had WIFI, and, for a few hours, I had the room to myself.  A young man who spoke English treated me so nicely.  His kindness was much appreciated after a not-so-good time the night before in Puente La Reina, where, after I came back from dinner, I discovered that someone had taken all of my belongings off of my bed and put them in a heap across the room.  The lights had been off and at first I could not even find my stuff.  Once I found my things, I put them back on the bed and crawled into my bedroll, scared that someone was going to come and yell at me or something.  Within the hour, two men came to my bed angrily whispering.  I kept my eyes closed and pretended to be asleep, and, eventually, they went away.

I did not like anything about that monastery-slash-circus at all.  The town itself was unkind to strangers.  I went into a store to get a cool drink and even the children outside the store were rude to me.  They obviously did not like "dirty Trekkers."

I am getting behind with my walking and am unable to keep up with the recommended stages in my guide.  I was walking eleven hours a day to try to keep up with the pack, but I cannot continue doing that.  It does not allow my foot enough time to heal between days and does not give me enough hours of daylight to line-dry my clothes.

Sadly, I am unable to think of much while walking except my pain.  On the first few days, I took in lots and thought about plenty.  Now I am just in excruciating pain.  I assume I am being broken down before I will be rebuilt.

I did, however, see some amazing things today.  After passing flowering mustard and poppies on the way into a village called Cirauqui that towered over its crooked, steep, and narrow streets, I walked over the old Roman highway which is pictured above. 

I have gotten rid of so much to lighten my pack-- medicines, bandaids, underwear, even my beloved hundred-dollar Therma Rest pad.

I have realized on this trip that solitude is the key to peace, but that human interactions and the lack of them are what truly result in joy and sadness.



Leave a Reply.

    Lisa Sawyer

    Buen Camino!  Welcome to Soul Stride, a chronicle of the pilgrimage I took by foot, July 15th to August 24th, from Saint Jean Pied de Port, France to Santiago de Compostela, Spain where the Apostle James' bones are believed to be interred.  Kindly read these posts from the bottom of the site up, as they chronologize the adventure, with the very first entry (June 7 letter to my Mom) explaining my motivation for making the journey and providing the logistics.  Thank you so much for sharing my interest in the Way of Saint James and for supporting my life-changing voyage!  God speed!  Ultreia! 

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012