Picture
See photo gallery.

I arrived a few hours ago in Puente la Reina.  I am staying at a monastery.  Assuming I can get my VERY painful feet to move down the street, I will set out to find some dinner in a few minutes as I am starving.  Yesterday, I walked through Pamplona and stayed the night in Cizur Menor.  Pamplona was very energetic, only a week after the festival with the running of the bulls.  I spent some time in a gorgeous cathedral there and ate a very garlicky tostada (a large rectangular crouton type bread-thing) topped with jamon.  In Cizur Menor, I bunked with two Swiss and two Philadelphian women.  I had a nice Pilgrim´s meal of garlic soup (very tasty with bites of sausage), a couple of breaded chicken cutlets, and ice cream.  The red wine I was served was slightly chilled and refreshingly thirst-quenching. I drank a glass and a half of wine, which carried me right to sleep when I got back to the refuge.  Today, I had quite a climb and descent.  At the top was the Pilgrims´ Monument (the point in The Way where Jaust compares his waist to the that of the metal pilgrim in the monument, and Sara translates the inscription for Tom: ¨Where the path of the wind crosses that of the stars.¨)  The area was electric with people so happy to have reached the top and all excited to be at that specific significant spot.  Lots of windmills line the ridge, and the whir of the windmills had drawn me faster and faster to the top.  I have shed a lot of my belongings in order to better handle my backpack´s weight.  The lighter backpack and being in better condition made today´s climb better than the first two days´.  My bad foot, however, is not doing well.  I have faced (and am now trying to accept) the reality that I will not be able to walk the entire 500 miles.  My foot can barely handle about half of what I had hoped to traverse each day (though I did walk the entire nineteen kilometers today).  I most likely will need to take a bus for a part of it.  I am creating voice recordings chronicling the trip, during the stretches when I am walking alone, so I hope to blog from those once home.  Well, the Internet timer is about to end, so off I go to take my laundry off the clothesline, to get some food, then head to sleep.  Peace to all!     

Sharon Parker
7/26/2012 02:24:32 pm

Great to hear from you after a pause of several days! You get full credit for the pilgrimmage whether you take the bus for part of it or walk the whole thing, for sure. Buen camino dear friend, keep up the good work!!

Reply
Haley Wood
8/7/2012 11:57:15 pm

I am so very proud and inspired by you, Aunt Lisa! Rooting for every step you take and amazed by what you have accomplished so far. Love you!

Reply
Lisa Sawyer
9/3/2012 04:18:54 am

Dear little Haley (you'll always little Haley to me), thank you so much for your encouragement. I thought of you and your Napa adventures while I was walking through the Rioja vineyards. Have you ever had a Rioja Crianza or Reserva? Sending you lots of love!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Lisa Sawyer

    Buen Camino!  Welcome to Soul Stride, a chronicle of the pilgrimage I took by foot, July 15th to August 24th, from Saint Jean Pied de Port, France to Santiago de Compostela, Spain where the Apostle James' bones are believed to be interred.  Kindly read these posts from the bottom of the site up, as they chronologize the adventure, with the very first entry (June 7 letter to my Mom) explaining my motivation for making the journey and providing the logistics.  Thank you so much for sharing my interest in the Way of Saint James and for supporting my life-changing voyage!  God speed!  Ultreia! 

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012