Picture
See photo gallery.

I wound up getting no sleep last night.  I thought that the top bunk I had selected would be great.  Against a partial wall, it had had a bit of privacy.  And it was wonderful for the while that I had spent listening to music as the others settled in before the lights went off.  But that was where the comfort ended.  My specially chosen spot wound up being under two blaring sets of night lights.  I listened for hours as a couple of others likewise tossed, then, at about 3:00 a.m., I started to drift to sleep, in time for a rooster below the window to begin his rude performance.  Two hours later I arose with a sore throat.

Listening mostly to music by Lana Del Rey, I walked from Ligonde to Palas de Rei.  As soon as I reached the city's center, I stopped at a supermercado and bought a bottle of shampoo, some cheese, a bag of throat lozenges, some cookies, and an ice-cream bar.  After finding the government albergue, I ate the cheese, cookies, and ice cream while waiting in a queue for a bed.  I got the shivers as I waited three hours in the shade, so, as soon as I got a bed, I went right to sleep.  




Leave a Reply.

    Lisa Sawyer

    Buen Camino!  Welcome to Soul Stride, a chronicle of the pilgrimage I took by foot, July 15th to August 24th, from Saint Jean Pied de Port, France to Santiago de Compostela, Spain where the Apostle James' bones are believed to be interred.  Kindly read these posts from the bottom of the site up, as they chronologize the adventure, with the very first entry (June 7 letter to my Mom) explaining my motivation for making the journey and providing the logistics.  Thank you so much for sharing my interest in the Way of Saint James and for supporting my life-changing voyage!  God speed!  Ultreia! 

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012