Picture
See photo gallery.

Having spent the morning sniffing honeysuckle, mint, zinnias, and hydrangea, and hiking past hollyhocks, sunflowers, and lettuce-corn-and-kale gardens, I watched a man in La Faba push his wheelbarrow of potatoes uphill from his garden to the village center and wash them in the town water fountain; I waited while an elderly woman herded her pigs down the road into her yard; and, farther down the path, I ate an orange and cookies in a raspberry patch with the bees before quickly "visiting the bushes" (knowing full well that those traveling the higher road likely could see me if they cared to look).

I had a big mountain climb, but crazily I had grown to love the uphill climbs, because my foot did best when it was in a flexed position.  I did not use my crippling-crutches (I mean trekking poles), bandages or braces.  Instead, I let my body find its natural balance.  It was terrific not to hit my nose, forehead, and glasses with five-foot batons every time I swatted at flies. 

I crossed into the Galicia region early in the afternoon and walked into O'Cebreiro (pronounced Oh-thay-bray-air-oh) shortly thereafter.  After showering and handwashing and hanging my laundry, I wandered through O'Cebreiro's little stores in its 15th Century stone buildings that had once been a part of the monastic settlement where Queen Isabella had stayed during her pilgrimage to Santiago in 1486.

O'Cebreiro was Celtic in origin and was a very spiritual mixing of Celtic mysticism and Catholicism.  Celts believed in "thin places," and I was surprised to discover a thin place between the earth and the spirit realm in O'Cebreiro.

Late afternoon, I went inside the stone iglesia (church) to take a look around.  I had peeked into the little baptismal chamber and had just noticed the confessionals, when this sense of God's presence leveled me.  I found my way to a pew and sat.  Tears slowly rolled down my cheeks.  (Having no hanky, I kept wiping my drippy-nosed-hand on my sock.)  Photo-snapping tourists faded from my periphrea, and I sat basking in the light of God's glory and grace. Every time I started to move, it was as if God would press my head against His shoulder to soothe and comfort me.  I do not know how long I sat like that.

When I opened my eyes, the church had filled.   All but me were standing, and a mass had begun.  I understood very little of the mass, but I much enjoyed the rich ceremony, and worshipped the Lord with the others.

* * *

After the mass, I had a meal of caldo gallego (a white bean soup, with potatoes, onions and turnip tops, in a pork broth), grilled chicken with potatoes, flan, and cold vino tinto, (having learned the day before that the reason the wine was cold was because it often had cold [sometimes sparkling] water added to it to dilute its strength).

Before bed, I brushed my teeth and zipped the pants back onto my convertible black shorts.  It was cold in Galicia, as I was nearing the Atlantic Ocean, and the Galician mountains were the first things the cold winds hit coming off of the ocean.

I went to bed that night thankful for The Second Good Day and for the beautiful "thin place" experience that had insulated me as if I were an infant blanketed in her mother's love. 



Leave a Reply.

    Lisa Sawyer

    Buen Camino!  Welcome to Soul Stride, a chronicle of the pilgrimage I took by foot, July 15th to August 24th, from Saint Jean Pied de Port, France to Santiago de Compostela, Spain where the Apostle James' bones are believed to be interred.  Kindly read these posts from the bottom of the site up, as they chronologize the adventure, with the very first entry (June 7 letter to my Mom) explaining my motivation for making the journey and providing the logistics.  Thank you so much for sharing my interest in the Way of Saint James and for supporting my life-changing voyage!  God speed!  Ultreia! 

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012