Picture
See photo gallery.

I left the Arzua albergue at 5:30 a.m. I walked mostly alone in pitch black through deep forest. Owls were screeching. Moth shadows in the flashlight light looked like bats, and the eyes of a raccoon or badger reflected back at me.  It was impossible to see the way marks, and I got turned around a few times.  I enjoyed it though. It was exhilarating and scary.

At one point, beyond the woods, someone had set up a candlelit stand on the path with coffee thermoses and fruit. I came upon it as the sun began to rise.  I did not stop to partake, but I did absorb its beauty and serenity.

Three and a half kilometers later, I sat under a cherry tree outside a cafe and had a cafe con leche and a tostada with jam.  I then walked on another thirteen kilometers.  My feet were in such pain, perhaps a difference of walking in mud as opposed to hard dirt, as it had rained during the night.

I stopped at the xunta albergue in Santa Irene at 11:00 a.m.  It had thirty-six places and was on a busy, noisy highway without meal accommodations.  I thought there might be a line of people waiting to get in, but there was no one at the albergue when I arrived.  Everyone had likely walked on the additional 2.7 kilometers to the albergue in Arco O Pino which had two hundred beds and places to eat.  As I waited, others stopped but then decided to go on, because there was no place nearby to eat. I did not care about food. I just wanted to be assured of a bed and a shower without having to walk farther. After my thirty-five-kilometers-Samos-to-Portomarin day, I was afraid of not finding a place and then having to walk on in pain. 

After waiting a couple of hours in the pouring rain, the albergue did open at 1:00.  The bed had a nice mattress and the place was clean and safe.  I, however, was chilled to the bone.  I crawled in my sleeping bag first thing to try to get warm.  I needed a shower, but, instead hunkered down in my sack to generate some heat. 




Leave a Reply.

    Lisa Sawyer

    Buen Camino!  Welcome to Soul Stride, a chronicle of the pilgrimage I took by foot, July 15th to August 24th, from Saint Jean Pied de Port, France to Santiago de Compostela, Spain where the Apostle James' bones are believed to be interred.  Kindly read these posts from the bottom of the site up, as they chronologize the adventure, with the very first entry (June 7 letter to my Mom) explaining my motivation for making the journey and providing the logistics.  Thank you so much for sharing my interest in the Way of Saint James and for supporting my life-changing voyage!  God speed!  Ultreia! 

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012